Buffy the Vampire Slayer – Spike and Dru: All’s Fair
Dark Horse Comics – Dec. 2000
Writter: Christopher Golden
Artists: Eric Powell, Keith Barnett, Drew Geraci, Guy Major
Editor: Scott Allie

Since I’ve never gone into any of the old Dark Horse Buffy comics, I decided to check them out. I got a bunch of them in the form of the Buffy Omnibus series and decided to read them when I deemed it appropriate. Since I’m about to watch the first episode with Spike and Drusilla, I figured now was as good a time as any to check this out. And if this is any indication as to what I’m going to see as I continue to read Buffy comics, I’m in for a real sour time.

The first thing to disappoint me is the fact that Eric Powell, of The Goon fame, was involved here. I love that comic and I love his work as both an artist and a writer. But here, his talents are wasted. We’re treated to a story about the two titular vampire set in the 1930’s, in the time of the World’s Fair (do you get the title joke, now?). They are being hunted by the siblings of the Chinese Slayer Spike murdered back in the Boxer Rebellion (one of my favorite parts of Buffy lore, actually) and have to contend with them throughout the (super short) narrative.

The art is fine, for the most part, but very lazy. They really don’t look like the characters from the show, for the most part, with Dru only sometimes looking like herself and Spike never looking like Marsters. The monsters and sights and spectacles and action found here aren’t that great and poorly portrayed. But even I could forgive that if the story was sound.

SURPRISE!

It’s not.

The brothers are dealt with too easily. The mad scientist that almost destroys’ the universe? Stupid and unsympathetic. And the fact that they don’t kill him at all and just leave him as a vampire but never deal with him again? Stupid. And then there’s the matter of Elder Gods that are killed… by a lowly vampire? It just didn’t make sense and didn’t get me curious at all.

The plus sides? It showcased that Spike doesn’t want the world to end, something we see him deal with later on in Season 2. And, I guess, its nice to know that Spike tore the Chinese slayer to pieces. But this isn’t cannon, so what does it really matter?


I hated read this, is the bottom line. I mean, seriously hated it. I was mad at myself for doing it the whole time. It wasn’t well written, lazily drawn, and just uninteresting overall.


Review: NOT WORTH TALKING ABOUT

