History of the Slayer – Promo(s)
Written by: No Clue
Directed by: Joss Whedon, I assume based on content
Air Date: 1997

Lucy_Hanover

These promos were filmed and shown on the WB prior to the premiere of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer”. Go ahead and watch one I’ve linked to, before, here.

The majority of these promos is always the same: showing tons and tons of footage from the ol’ pilot, but the bits that happen before this showcase small bits of “history” about other Slayers from the past, including Abigail Cole, Florence Gilbert, and the often-used Lucy Hanover. These people are cannon, to varying degrees and, while never directly referenced in the show, pop up all over the place in the extended fiction of books, comics, etc. I’d never heard of these people or seen these promos before, so it was a treat.

What I will say, though, is that this has lead me down the road of trying to find any info on whoever the Slayer was prior to Buffy. Some light research has yielded me the answer to that question, but it was a fun, tiny rabbit hole. So, this thing made me think. Kudos to it?

Florence_Gilbert

But then again, it made me watch clips of the unaired pilot, so…

You Know: there’s that.

